Share Your World – 2014 Week 6

Have you watched or plan to watch any of the 2014 Winter Olympics?

Before this question I didn’t even know that the Winter Olympics had started. In my defense, I live in a tropical country (no snow) and like many Jamaicans I have no particular interest in the Winter Olympic Games.

What is your favorite winter Olympic event? Would you ever want to be an expert in that sport?

Though I don’t keep up with the sport, I must say that I really do enjoy watching figure skating. I love the beauty and freedom that those athletes showcase when they’re on the ice. I like the preciseness, the grace and skill that the sport requires. I would love to learn to skate on ice, maybe not expertly but for recreation.

Have you ever met an Olympic Athlete?

I have met several Olympic athletes While in college, I was a part of the track team (I throw the javelin) and our training included going to the national stadium early in the mornings which is the time that our Olympic athletes train. So I have met, Usain Bolt, Kaliese Spencer, Sherone Simpson and others. I have not met an international Olympic athlete however.

Do you have a favorite athlete? Name sport.

I don’t have a favorite any kind of celebrity. I’m happy with any athlete who does his or her best to represent his or her country.

What is your favorite exercise or sport? Is there a reason?

I don’t have a favorite sport but I do like watching Track and Field. Track and Field is a big deal in Jamaica much like football is a big deal in America, so you probably won’t meet a Jamaican who doesn’t take a keen interest in the sport.

The reason for liking Track and Field so much is because of the success that we have achieved internationally and because of the unity it brings to the nation when our athletes compete. Also nothing beats the rush that we get from seeing our athletes dominating tracks.

I’ll also take this opportunity to send a shout out to Jamaica’s second ever Bobsled Team on qualifying for the Winter Olympic Games.

Jamacian-bobsled-team-460x260 source: magazine.wfu.edu

In response to:

 http://ceenphotography.com/2014/02/10/share-your-world-2014-week-6/

2 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2014 Week 6

Leave a Reply

